Tatar receives independent MPs
Date Added: 25 October 2021

President Ersin Tatar is meeting with independent MPs in parliament today as part of his efforts to determine whether or not there is any ground between the political parties to form a new government.

Tatar received independent MPs Hasan Topal, Mesut Genç and Hasan Büyükoğlu at 11:30 on Monday morning.

He will be receiving independent MP Bertan Zaroğlu this afternoon.

Earlier last week, the president had met with leaders and representatives of the six political parties with seats in the TRNC parliament, the National Unity Party (UBP), the Republican Turkish Party (CTP), the Peoples’ Party (HP), the Democrat Party (DP), the Social Democratic Party (TDP) and the Rebirth Party (YDP).

Tatar had told reporters after his meetings that he had no intention of handing the mandate of forming a new government to any of the parties and that the healthiest option would be for the parliament to set a date for early elections as soon as possible.

President Ersin Tatar also said that he was in close consultation with the Speaker of Parliament Önder Sennaroğlu and that it would become clear how the process will proceed before the 60-day deadline ends.